The Armed Forces Tribunal constituted under the Armed Forces Tribunal Act 2007 for the adjudication of complaints and disputes regarding service matters and appeals arising out of the verdicts of the Courts Martial of the members of the three services (Army, Navy & Airforce) to provide for quick and less expensive justice to the members of the said Armed Forces of the Union. It has been decided that a total of 15 benches will be created across India, of these three each shall be located in Delhi, Chandigarh and Lucknow and one each in Kolkata, Guwahati, Mumbai, Kochi, Jaipur and Chennai. Delhi will be the Principal Bench and will have three courts and jurisdiction over the state of Delhi. The Chandigarh Bench will have jurisdiction over Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh (UT), Jammu & Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh. The Lucknow Bench will have jurisdiction over Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. The Guwahati Bench will have jurisdiction over Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim. The Mumbai Bench will have jurisdiction over Maharashtra, Goa and Gujarat, while Kochi Bench will have jurisdiction over Kerala, Karnataka and Laksha Dweep islands. Chennai Bench will look after Tamil Nadu and Andra Pradesh. The Jaipur Bench will have jurisdiction over Rajasthan and Kolkata Bench will have jurisdiction over West Bengal, Orissa, Jharkhand, Bihar and Andaman & Nichobar islands.

As per the Gazette of India Notification dated 28th July 2010, the Armed Forces Tribunal, Regional Bench, Guwahati was inaugurated on 31st July 2010 by Honourable Mr. Justice AK Mathur, Former Judge of the Honourable Supreme Court of India and presently Chairperson, Armed Forces Tribunal, New Delhi in the presence and blessings of Honourable Mr. Justice Madan B Lokur, the then Chief Justice of the Honourable Gauhati High Court, Guwahati as Chief Guest and other distinguished guests including Honourable Judges of the Gauhati High Court and several high level dignitaries of the Indian Air Force, Indian Army, State & Central Govts. During the prestigious inaugural function, Honourable Mr. Justice CY Somayajulu, former Judge of the Honourable High Court of Andra Pradesh and the then Member (Judicial), Armed Forces Tribunal (Regional Bench) Guwahati presented the welcome speech and Honourable Cmde Mohan Phadke (Retd), Member (Admin), Armed Forces Tribunal (Regional Bench) Guwahati had presented vote of thanks. The meeting was anchored by SM Haque, Registrar, Armed Forces Tribunal (Regional Bench) Guwahati.

AFTRB - Calender





Armed Forces Tribunal
Regional Bench,Guwahati
2nd Floor Assam Police Housing Corporation Ltd
Behind Assam Police Headquarters
Dr BK Kakoti Road
Rehabari Guwahati 781008
Tele: 0361-2636563 Fax 0361-2633485
Email: aftrbghy@nic.in

India Portal